New Year, Less Stuff

Happy New Year!

Even those of us who have abandoned making official resolutions still enjoy the freshness that the new year brings. For me, I’m thrilled to be looking at active cancer treatment in my rear-view mirror, and praying it stays there forever.

Maybe it’s because I’ve been staring a serious disease in the face for the last year, but lately, I’ve been struck by the ridiculous excesses in my life. I’ve always been this way to a certain extent. If possessing one is nice, then buying twenty-five more of them is great. The accumulation of years, however, has resulted in an amazing pile of…stuff.

To illustrate this, I will share with you the panoply of lipstick, lip gloss, lip liner, lip stain, and lip balm that I currently own.

My Beautiful Lips

I figured it out. Even if I kept my lips sticked, glossed, lined, stained, or balmed for 24 hrs a day, it would probably take more years to use up all this stuff than God plans to leave me on this earth–and this is assuming my cause of death will be “she was really, really old.”

I have no plans to take any lipstick with me. The perfect shade, so elusive here on earth, awaits me in heaven.

Let’s not even talk about the shoes, okay?

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  Matthew 6: 19-21

One thought on “New Year, Less Stuff

  1. I love this post! You are so wonderful. You motivate me with your bible verses and your positive attitude. That is what I want for myself. To find scripture to describe my heart and my thoughts. I don’t do resolutions every year but this is a resolution I want for life…the Word.

Leave a Reply

