September 29th

It’s September 29th, 2012.  Last year on this date, I found my breast cancer.

Friday, September 29th, 2011.

You know how some moments are frozen forever in your memory?

I was getting ready to drive to San Diego for a meeting, which is a 3-4 hour traffic endurance event.  I got out of the shower and glanced at my hot-water pink, nakey self in the bathroom mirror, which is an interesting thing to do at my age.  Plenty of evidence of a life lived.  Effects of full-term twin pregnancy.  Scars from bicycle crashes.  The unfortunate application of gravity over the years.

What’s that red spot?

I don’t know, continued my mental conversation with myself.  I peered at it in the magnifying mirror.  About two inches in diameter, kinda pink, a little raised, and… hmmm…sort of orange-peely looking.  Never seen anything like it.  But wait–oh–

I dropped the mirror and ran into my walk-in closet to hide.

Standing there gasping among the jumble of sneakers and stacks of shoe boxes, with my heart pounding in my ears, it occurred to me that my breast had followed me in there.

And that my life had just changed.  Forever.

“4 He will cover you with his feathers,
and under his wings you will find refuge;
his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.
5 You will not fear the terror of night,
nor the arrow that flies by day,
6 nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness,
nor the plague that destroys at midday.”  Psalm 91: 4-6

One thought on “September 29th

Leave a Reply

