The Cost of the Curls

I love my hair.  Love it.

I have a $100,000 hairdo.  Last year, given the choice, I would have declined paying what my curls have cost.  Life has a way of chosing its own direction.

The price has indeed been steep.  Four months of chemo (and counting), thirty-seven radiation sessions, two biopsies, one port placement, one lumpectomy, one mastectomy.  A grand canyon of a radiation wound.  A blistered toe.

So what did this buy me?  A year with my husband, our love deeper than the ocean, sweeter than baklava, warm and soft and snuggly as cashmere. Even better, a year of walking with the creator of the universe walking beside me with his arm around my shoulder.  Comforting, guiding, leading.  Daily grace.  Hope.  Love.

And curls, a soft, gorgeous, wonderful, explosion of curls.  I am beautiful.

When I said, “My foot is slipping,”
your love, O LORD, supported me.
When anxiety was great within me,
your consolation brought joy to my soul.  Psalm 94: 18-19

4 thoughts on “The Cost of the Curls

  1. Oh my, Katy. This is amazing writing. I am humbled by your craft and faith! So intimate and so inspiring – I’m in tears as I read these posts. Love you, girlfriend. (And now you’re bookmarked on my laptop, too.)

Leave a Reply

