Blessings

I could never have predicted the blessings of this journey.

When my doctor said, “It’s cancer,” my world screeched and tilted, angled sharply downward, and began a slow spin toward China.  With each new punch of bad news it spun faster.

It’s been five months now.  The shock and awe of the initial diagnosis.  The multiple holes cut into my chest.  The gazillion scans/tests/labs/x-rays.  The friendly fire of chemotherapy.  There have been some intensely unpleasant aspects of this experience.

But wait…there are intense blessings as well.

Let’s start with the small stuff:

My skin is baby-soft, clear, and glowing.  I have no idea why.  I wouldn’t recommend chemotherapy as a skin-care routine, but what the heck.

No nose hair.  No armpit hair.  No leg hair.  No….well, we’ll leave that alone.

Sweet just isn’t a taste I crave anymore.

And the big stuff:

Jerry and I are fervently, profoundly, crazy in love.  There’s just nothing like a life-threatening disease to make you cherish someone.  He pets my fuzzy bald head like it’s a baby duck.  I hold his hand falling asleep at night.  I love being in love.

Family, friends, and co-workers have overwhelmed us with loving support and encouragement.  Dinners brought in.  Success stories shared.  Prayer, laughs, compliments.  It’s incredible.

And the absolute best:

God is speaking to me in a wonderful way.  Peace…daily provision…blessings…

“From the fullness of his grace we have all received one blessing after another.” John 1:16

Leave a Reply

