Get Well Soon

Breast cancer is a very odd disease.  I’m just not sick.

I rode my mountain bike up a very nice trail this morning and accidentally ran over a huge lizard (he was fine; I turned around to check).  I went to church, cleaned the bathroom, made cookies, washed dishes, went to the library.  Apart from the occasional attack of the shivers, which are successfully treated with a fuzzy blanket and a husby-hug, I feel pretty great.

And yet, I’m receiving cards that urge me to “get well soon.”  “Hope your recovery is fast.” “Please call if there’s anything I can do.”  It would be great to shuffle off the bathroom-cleaning chore, but after riding my bicycle and feeling like a million dollars this morning, skiving off the housework would be cheating.

Maybe that’s the creepy part of breast cancer.  Not even a sniffle, but I know that without modern medical developments and my own dedication to a long, uncomfortable course of treatment, I would face a frightening future.

So now I’m preparing for battle.  I’m gearing up to get sick, so I can get well.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

